Milton Brown and his Musical Brownies, 5 CD box set =OUT OF PRINT=


Out of stock



In the formative years of western swing, Milton Brown & his Musical Brownies was the busiest and most popular musical act in the Southwest. Brown was so far ahead of his time that the style he helped create didn’t have a name until the mid-1940s, by which time Bob Wills had picked up where Milton left off. Brown died in 1936 and was quickly forgotten, due in part to his having recorded at the depth of the Depression, when few records were sold.

Milton Brown combined black and white musical styles and brought them into country music some twenty years before Elvis Presley did the same thing. In one of his last reviews, the late Robert Palmer said: “It would be no exaggeration to call the Brownies one of the most important, and most unjustly obscure, of the predecessors and forefathers of rock and roll. At the time, there was nobody to compare him to; the figure I’m repeatedly reminded of when listening to Brown’s impressive chops, natural feel, and inclusive stylistic grasp is Elvis Presley.”

Wanna Coffman pioneered the slapping bass in country music, a direct influence on Bill Black’s work with Elvis Presley twenty years later. Equally important was Brown’s hiring of Bob Dunn to play amplified steel guitar, who made it sound like the wail of Jack Teagarden’s trombone. Writer Nick Tosches likened it to the sound of “glass breaking against a stone wall.” It was that shattering. Dunn was influencing other guitarists to plug in even before Charlie Christian, Eddie Durham, and T-Bone Walker amplified their guitars in the Southwest. The Joe Venuti-influenced Cecil Brower and homegrown boy genius Cliff Bruner showed that there was more to country fiddling than just hoedowns.

OJL is proud to present the entire recorded output of Milton Brown and the Musical Brownies, in state-of-the-art transfers that make the music sound as fresh today as it must have to the dancers who were first bowled over by it in the 1930s. The five-CD set comes complete with an appreciation of Brown’s music written by Cary Ginell, author of “Milton Brown and the Founding of Western Swing,” as well as a full discography.

Track Listing

Disc: 1

  1. Sunbonnet Sue
  2. Nancy Jane
  3. Brownie’s Stomp
  4. Joe Turner Blues
  5. Oh! You Pretty Woman
  6. My Precious Sonny Boy
  7. Swinging on the Garden Gate
  8. Do the Hula Lou
  9. Garbage Man Blues
  10. Four, Five or Six Times
  11. Where You Been So Long, Corrine?
  12. Talking About You
  13. Sitting on Top of the World
  14. Take It Slow and Easy
  15. Get Along, Cindy
  16. Trinity Waltz
  17. Loveland and You
  18. This Morning, This Evening, So Soon
  19. Girl of My Dreams
  20. Loveless Love
  21. Put on Your Old Grey Bonnet
  22. Pray for the Lights to Go Out
  23. In el Rancho Grande

Disc: 2

  1. Down by the Ohio
  2. I Love You
  3. Sweet Jennie Lee!
  4. A Good Man Is Hard to Find
  5. St. Louis Blues
  6. The Object of My Affection
  7. Love in Bloom
  8. Chinatown, My Chinatown
  9. Copenhagen
  10. Brownie Special
  11. Some of These Days
  12. Wabash Blues
  13. Beautiful Texas
  14. Just a Dream
  15. Cheesy Breeze
  16. Who’s Sorry Now
  17. One of Us Was Wrong
  18. The House at the End of the Lane
  19. My Mary
  20. You’re Tired of Me
  21. You Rascal You
  22. Sweet Georgia Brown
  23. Shine on Harvest Moon

Disc: 3

  1. You’re Bound to Look Like a Monkey
  2. Wheezie Anna
  3. Taking Off
  4. Darktown Strutters’ Ball
  5. Crafton Blues
  6. Black and White Rag
  7. In the Shade of the Old Apple Tree
  8. Little Betty Brown
  9. Going Up Brushy Fork
  10. Somebody’s Been Using That Thing
  11. The Sheik of Araby
  12. Beale Street Mama
  13. Mama Don’t Allow It
  14. Our Baby Boy
  15. Mexicali Rose
  16. Stay on the Right Side, Sister
  17. If You Can’t Get Five Take Two
  18. Cielito Lindo
  19. The Waltz You Saved for Me
  20. The Eyes of Texas
  21. I Had Someone Before I Had You
  22. I’ve Got the Blues for Mammy
  23. Texas Hambone Blues
  24. Easy Ridin’ Papa
  25. Am I Blue

Disc: 4

1. The Wheel of the Wagon Is Broken

2. Memphis Blues

3. Somebody Stole My Gal

4. Under the Double Eagle

5. Washington and Lee Swing

6. When I’m Gone Don’t You Grieve

7. The Sweetheart of Sigma Chi

8. An Old Water Mill by a Waterfall

9. The Hesitation Blues

10. Avalon

11. Sadie Green (The Vamp of New Orleans)

12. Show Me the Way to Go Home

13. The Yellow Rose of Texas

14. The Roseland Melody

15. My Galveston Gal

16. Yes Sir!

17. La Golondrina

18. When I Take My Sugar to Tea

19. Song of the Wanderer

20. Right or Wrong

21. Chinese Honeymoon

22. Alice Blue Gown

23. Fan It

24. Tired of the Same Thing All the Time

Disc: 5

1. I’ll String Along With You

2. Goofus

3. Ida! Sweet as Apple Cider

4. When It’s Harvest Time, Sweet Angeline

5. Carry Me Back to the Lone Prairie

6. A Thousand Goodnights

7. Keep a Knockin’

8. Baby Keep Stealin’

9. The Old Grey Mare

10. Confessin’ (That I Love You)

11. The One Rose (That’s Left in My Heart)

12. Bring It on Down to My House Honey

13. Louise, Louise Blues

14. How Come You Do Me Like You Do?

15. High Geared Daddy

16. Honky Tonk Blues

17. Long, Long Ago

18. I Can’t Give You Anything But Love

19. There’ll Be Some Changes Made

20. Rose Room

21. Cross Patch

22. Everybody Loves My Marguerite

23. I Just Want Your Stingaree

24. Fall in Line With the NRA

25. The Musical Brownies’ Theme Song

Additional information

Weight 1.125 lbs
Dimensions 5.25 × 5.25 × 1 in




There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Milton Brown and his Musical Brownies, 5 CD box set =OUT OF PRINT=”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *