The Jazz Man Records Anthology


In stock



Jazz Man Records was an offshoot of the Jazz Man Record Shop, a collectors record store that began on the Sunset Strip in Hollywood in 1939. Shop owner Dave Stuart started his eponymous record label to document the burgeoning traditional jazz revival, spearheaded by Lu Watters’ Yerba Buena Jazz Band. Beginning in 1941, Jazz Man Records released recordings by many of the legends of that movement, including Watters, Bunk Johnson, Jelly Roll Morton, George Lewis, Kid Ory, Pete Daily, and many others. This 25-track CD includes representative recordings from each Jazz Man session held from 1941 until 1954. As an added bonus, we have included a previously unissued informal recording of “Fixin’ to Die” by blues legend Bukka White, made at the Jazz Man Record Shop in 1963. The Jazz Man Records Anthology is being offered as a companion piece to Cary Ginell’s book Hot Jazz for Sale: Hollywood’s Jazz Man Record Shop, which can be purchased at The CD comes in a clear vinyl sleeve which can be adhered to the back of the book.

“In ‘Hot Jazz For Sale: Hollywood’s Jazz Man Record Shop,’ Cary Ginell does a superb job of colorfully relating the full story of the store. Highly recommended.”

– Scott Yanow, L.A. Jazz Scene

Track List

1)         Muskrat Ramble – Lu Watters’ Yerba Buena Jazz Band

2)         Memphis Blues – Lu Watters’ Yerba Buena Jazz Band

3)         Black and White Rag – Wally Rose

4)         Sunset Cafe Stomp – Lu Watters’ Yerba Buena Jazz Band

5)         Moose March – Bunk Johnson’s Original Superior Band

6)         Interview, Part 1 – Willie “Bunk” Johnson

7)         Finger Buster – Jelly Roll Morton

8)         Blues for Jimmy – Kid Ory’s Creole Jazz Band

9)         Get Out of Here (and Go on Home) – Kid Ory’s Creole Jazz Band

10)         Joe’s Blues – Johnny Wittwer Trio

11)         Do What Ory Say – Kid Ory’s Creole Jazz Band

12)         Ragtime Nightingale – Johnny Wittwer

13)         Clarinet Marmalade – Pete Daily’s Rhythm Kings

14)         Brother Lowdown – Turk Murphy’s Bay City Stompers

15)         Dippermouth Blues – Darnell Howard’s Frisco Footwarmers

16)         Lovin’ to Be Done – Pud Brown’s Delta Kings with Jack Teagarden

17)         Don’t Send Me Posies – Rosy McHargue’s Ragtimers with Rink Leslie

18)         Ice Cream – George Lewis’ Ragtime Band

19)         Burgundy Street – George Lewis’ Ragtime Band, featuring Monette Moore

20)         Ting a Ling – Octave Crosby’s Original Dixieland Band

21)         Quaker Town – Pete Daily and His Chicagoans

22)         Loveless Love – Johnny Lucas and His Blueblowers

23)         Searchlight Rag – Marvin Ash

24)         You Know You Belong to Somebody Else – Joe Venuti and Tony Romano

25)         Fixin’ to Die – Bukka White

Get the companion book, “Hot Jazz For Sale: Hollywood’s Jazz Man Record Shop”

by: Cary Ginell

For over 40 years, the Jazz Man Record Shop was Hollywood’s haven and hangout for collectors of jazz records. Through its portals passed music’s greatest stars, from Louis Armstrong to the Rolling Stones, as well as some of Hollywood’s most famous personalities, including Orson Welles and Mel Torme. In the 1940s, the Jazz Man record label launched a worldwide revival of traditional jazz with its groundbreaking recordings by Lu Watters’ Yerba Buena Jazz Band. This book traces the fascinating history of this monument to American entrepreneurship, utilizing interviews, primary resources, and over 150 photographs and illustrations.

Buy it here

Additional information

Weight .3125 lbs
Dimensions 5.25 × 5 × .25 in



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Jazz Man Records Anthology”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *